Dan's Blog

November 14, 2015

Long time, no see me…

Filed under: uncategorized — ddswanson01 @ 8:46 am

A friend of mine just started a blog and that reminded me that I have one too, even though I haven’t posted for a long time. Last time I posted, I was unemployed, and upon rereading my posts, it was pretty clear that I was selling myself. Even so, thought I wrote some very good stuff, regarding Tech Support and Product Management. I guess I had time for a lot of deep thought.

Regardless of how good it was, it didn’t help. I’ve been employed since late 2010, and my job isn’t anywhere near either Tech Support of Product Management. I’m kind of bitter about the job market – after almost two years of looking, they only job I could find was as a contractor (read: temp) and even though I moved into a company as full time then, I took a major hit in pay. I probably didn’t lose my earlier job due to my age, as my company had just been purchased by another and I was downsized in the consolidation, but I suspect my age stood in the way of getting a new position. “Yeah, he’s probably going to retire soon, let’s hire somebody younger…” But in today’s market, how many people stay in the same job for long periods? I’ll bet whoever they hired instead of me didn’t stick around as long as I would have.

So when I see official govenment releases telling us atout the wonderful recorver, I wonder who exactly is fooled by that crap? Look at average salary. Look at the number of people who are not counted in the ‘unemployment’ figures because they have given up looking. They don’t have a job, they are not working, and they would work if they could, but the official ‘unemployment rate’ doesn’t count them. Any ratio will look better if you define it so it leaves out half of whatever it claims to count. Look at percentage of employable adults who actually are employed, instead.

I won’t be posting about my job. My friend is posting about writing – he’s a good one. I’ll probably post about writing too, maybe even post some of what I am writing at any given time – maybe knowing that something I’ve posted is unfinished will give me some incentive to finish whatever it is.

So, back to a story I’m working on, next time I come by here, I think I’ll post some completed stories about AVant Guard, a pair of superheroines living and working n San Francisco in the late 50s/early 60s in a ‘parallel dimension’. I’m planning to fit them into the ‘Other Earth’ universe I’ve written in before – my plan was to create a framework with stories set in the 40s, 50s, 60s, etc, as part of a background, and see if anyone else wanted to set stories in the same universe, not necessarily using my characters – after all, the world is a big place,with room for lots of unrelated stories.

Work keeps me very busy during working hours,and the job is stressful, so I’m looking forward to periodic vacations on Other Earth!

Thanks for reading, I promise I won’t complain about the world in future posts!

Dan

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

